You are here: Home » Religious » Nine Forms of Goddess Durga

Nine Forms of Goddess Durga

36 Flares 36 Flares ×

Navratri is the nine day long Hindu festival of worship, During nine days, we worship nine forms of Goddess Durga.

Mata Shailputri – First Forms of Goddess Durga

On the first day of Navaratri we worship of Mata Shailputri. She is the first among nine avatars of Goddess Durga, a daughter of ‘Parvata Raj – Himalaya. She holds a ‘Trishul’, a weapon, in her right hand and a lotus in her left hand. She rides on bull. She has pleasant smile and blissful looks.

Mata Brahmacharini – Second Forms of Goddess Durga

Mata Brahmacharini is worshipped on second day of Navarathri. It represents the youth stage of a woman. She holds  japa mala in her right hand and Kamandal in left hand. She is also called as ‘Uma’ and ‘Tapacharini’ and provides knowledge and wisdom to her devotees. It represents the youth stage of a woman

Mata Chandraghanta – Third Forms of Goddess Durga

Mata Chandraghanta is worshipped on the fourth day of Navrathri. Mata Chandraghanta displays a golden hue to her skin, and possesses ten hands and three eyes. She holds weapons in her eight hands while the remaining two are respectively in the mudras of gestures of boon giving and stopping harm. It represents matured woman.

Nine Forms of Goddess Durga

Nine Forms of Goddess Durga

Mata Kushmanda – Fourth Forms of Goddess Durga

Mata Kushmanda is worshipped on the fourth day of Navrathri. She shines brightly with a laughing face in all ten directions as the Sun. She controls whole Solar system. In her eight hands, she holds several types of weapons in six hands and a rosary and a lotus in remaining hands. She rides on Lion. She likes offerings of ‘Kumhde’, hence her name ‘Kushmanda’ has become popular.

Mata Skanda – Fifth Forms of Goddess Durga

Skanda Mata is worshipped on the fifth Day of Navratri.  She had a son ‘Skandaa and holds him on her lap . She has  three eyes and  four hands; two hands hold lotuses while the other two hands respectively display defending and granting gestures. Its said, by the mercy of Skandmata, even the idiot becomes an ocean of knowledge. The great and legendary Sanskrit Scholar Kalidas created his two masterpieces works  “Raghuvansh Maha Kavya” and “Meghdoot” by the grace of  Skandmata. She is the goddess of Fire. She rides on Lion.

Mata Katyayani – Sixth Forms of Goddess Durga

Mata Katyayani is worshipped on the the Sixth Day of Navratri. Rishi Katyayan observed a penance to get Jaganmata as his daughter. She blessed him and took birth as his daughter on the bank of river Jamuna for getting Lord Krishna as a husband. She is considered as prime deity of Vraj mandal. Ma Katyayani has three eyes and four hands. . One left hand holds a weapon and the other a lotus She rides on Lion. As a potent force and facet of female energy, Katyayani claims as her own the Ajna or Agya Chakra. Symbolized by a lotus with 2 petals, this chakra is also known as third eye chakra.

Mata Kalratri – Seventh Forms of Goddess Durga

Mata Kalaratri is worshipped on the Seventh Day of Navratri .  She is dark and black like night, hence she is called as ‘Kalratri’. Her hairs are unlocked and has three eyes and four hands.while the remaining 2 are in the mudras of “giving” and “protecting”. Her vahana is a faithful donkey. The destroyer of darkness and ignorance.  She spills out fire from her nostrils. She holds a sharp Sword in her right hand and blesses her devotees with her lower hand. As she blesses her devotees with prosperity, she is also called as ‘Shubhamkari’.

Mata Maha Gauri – Eighth Forms of Goddess Durga

Mata Maha Gowri is worshipped on the Eight Day of Navratri. Maha Gauri looks as white as moon and jasmine. She has three Eyes and four hands. Peace and compassion radiate from her being and she is often dressed in a white or green sari. She holds a drum and a trident and is often depicted riding a bull . Her above left hand is in fearless pose and she holds ‘Trishul’ in her lower left hand. Her above right hand has tambourine and lower right hand is in blessing mudra.

Mata Siddhidatri – Ninth Forms of Goddess Durga

Mata Siddhidatri is the worshipped on the Ninth Day of Navratri. Maha Shakti gives all the eight siddhis – Anima, Mahima, Garima, Laghima, Prapti, Prakamya, Iishitva and Vashitva. On the final day of Navratri pooja, worshippers and devotees of Durga wonderfully pay homage to Goddess Siddhidatri. According to ‘Devi Puran’, the supreme God Shiva got all these siddhis by worshipping the supreme Goddess Maha Shakti. With her gratitude, his half body has become of Goddess, hence Lord Shiva’s name ‘Ardhanarishvar’ has become famous. According to some sources she drives on Lion. Other sources say, she is seated on lotus. Siddhidatri Devi is worshipped by all Gods, Rushis, Muniswaras, Siddha yogis, and all common devotees who want to attain the religious asset.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


36 Flares Twitter 3 Facebook 14 Google+ 14 StumbleUpon 2 Pin It Share 0 LinkedIn 3 36 Flares ×
Skip to toolbar